Day 31 – Self Portrait and Final Thoughts

Self Portrait - Blogging in the Sun.

Self Portrait – Blogging in the Sun.

Oh my gosh, I actually did it! I blogged every day this month! Every. Single. Day.

Those of you who have known me for awhile, know how colossal this is. I stumble on here about once or twice a year and claim that I’m going to start blogging again. I make grandiose goals to post every day. I go full throttle for about two, maybe three days and then … crickets. For months.

Thanks so much to Tiffany for putting this together and to whatever sweet soul pinned to their Pinterest board. Having a roadmap of daily topics made a world of difference. I loved posting and then going off to see what everybody else had posted, and I discovered some great blogs I will be sure to continue to follow.

Some other things I discovered:

  1. Despite all the claims I’ve made to the contrary, I DO have time to write. It’s not a lot of time, but if I make an effort and focus, I can always find a pocket of time here and there every day. I woke up every morning thinking about when I’d be able to write, and that seemed to be an important key. 
  2. It’s easier with a plan. I’ve never been great at planning — I tend to do most things by the seat of my pants — but if I can manage even just a rough outline of topics and schedule my time a bit better, I have more of a chance of accomplishing things.
  3. Community is a huge part of blogging. And truly the best part. I love that there are so many people putting such great, positive content out there in blogosphere, and it’s been awesome getting to know some of those people. My only regret is not having a lot of time to jump around and meet more of you. Some days, it was all I could manage to post. I know now that some of that time I carve out to blog has to go to reading and commenting. YOU ALL ROCK!

A friend of mine recently asked me if I was going to just quit after today. Well, you’re not going to get rid of me that easy. I will definitely be posting more regularly. I’ve been toying with this challenge, which starts tomorrow, so I better decide soon. I guess we’ll have to see how I feel when I get up tomorrow. I’ve commited to different type of writing challenge with my Wiffer friends next month. I plan to keep you all posted about that here. There’s also a lot of physical changes and clean up I want to do on my blog — it’s been years since I first set it up and I think it’s time for a change. Maybe even a name change (for the blog – not me). We’ll just have to wait and see.

Again, thank you all! I will proudly display this on my blog:

march-blog-challenge-badge

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. coffeegirl88
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 16:37:45

    I am very proud of you for doing this and I had no doubt that you’d make it.

    And do you think you could send some of the sunshine East please? I would love to actually, you know, sit barefoot in the sunshine on my deck. Do I have to actually mention what’s still in my weather forecast for the next week? Didn’t think so.

  2. kimberlyfoley
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 16:41:52

    Thank you for never doubting me, that means a lot.

    As for the sun, I can’t believe how gorgeous it is today, and I had to spend most of it working. I was so happy to finally get home to my backyard and my blog!

  3. cristys18
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 16:55:32

    Yay for new blog friends. I will continue to read. You did awesome. I do like the “not having to think of a topic” part of it.

  4. Tiffany C.
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 17:09:15

    You’re awesome for posting every single day!!!! Congrats.

  5. kimberlyfoley
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 18:13:17

    Thanks, Tiffany! And thanks again for the awesome ride!

  6. kimberlyfoley
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 18:16:14

    It was great to have a prompt. I will be sure to continue following your blog! I’ve loved meeting so many fabulous people!

  7. Paula Kaye
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 20:49:49

    I am happy to have found you. I hope you do the A to Z challenge. I have quite a few of my posts ready to go. But I am kind of nervous, because I am just a down home Kansas girl and some of those blogs I have so far visited sound like sophisticated writers!
    http://paulasplace-paula.blogspot.com/

  8. Laura
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 14:19:33

    Fantastic job! I’ve had so much fun getting to know you!

Leave a Reply

