Day 25 – My Location

Fall in the Rockies

Aspens in the Fall near Pike’s Peak, Colorado

I live in the state of Colorado, in the Jefferson County section of Littleton, in the Columbine Knolls subdivision.

Bluebird Day at Keystone

Bluebird Day in Keystone, Colorado

WinterSunriseStarbucks

Winter Sunrise at Starbucks in Littleton, Colorado

Colorado is truly a beautiful state to live in, not only because of the majestic Rocky Mountains (queue John Denver’s “Rocky Mountain High”) and the incredible scenery, but also because of the absolutely gorgeous weather we have — an average of 360 sunny days per year, and that’s no lie. People around here are so spoiled, they start getting clinically depressed if we have more than two cloudy days in a row. I just got back from picking my son up from a friend’s house, and the view of the white snowy mountains after this weekend’s snowfall was breathtaking. The ski towns call this a “Bluebird Day” because it looks just like a bluebird with it’s blue wings and white belly. I call it a “Snow Globe Day” because it reminds me of a snow globe before you shake it to make it snow. And our sunrises and sunsets? Nothing like them.  I was born in the Pacific Northwest, and I talk about moving back there when I retire, but I often wonder if I will really be able to pry myself away from Colorado.

Both my husband and I grew up in Lakewood, Colorado. Our first house was in Morrison. We moved to Littleton in 1995, when my older son was not quite two years old and my younger son had yet to make his entrance into the world. We chose our neighborhood because we fell in love with the huge yards and the mature trees, and later felt blessed to find out that the schools were among the top ranked in state. It was the perfect place to raise our family.

RebelStrong

Stair Landing at Columbine High School

I used to get asked about it all the time, but thankfully not so much anymore, and I hesitate to mention it now because I don’t want to seem like I’m dwelling on the past, because I’m not. However, I really want to tell you how proud I am of the Columbine community. I was here on that dark day in 1999, my first indication being the half dozen or more news helicopters hovering above my house as I frosted my younger son’s birthday cake, and since then I have watched this community come together to mourn, heal, and overcome that tragedy. My children went and still go to Columbine, and although it has its problems like any other high school, it is an exceptional school. There have been many books written about the whys and the hows, but if I were to write a book about it, I would write about the heart and strength of this community, and how it came together to rise above such a horrible nightmare. At the groundbreaking for the Columbine Memorial, President Clinton quoted Hemingway; “The world breaks everyone, and afterward, some are strong in the broken places.” That couldn’t be more true for this community, and I feel grateful to be a part of it. I still get a little misty eyed when I hear the kids chant:

“We are … COLUMBINE!”

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deb Reed
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 12:26:25

    Well said! I totally agree and would really have a tough time leaving this wonderland!!

  2. Paula Kaye
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 23:09:03

    Love Colorado! We have spent many, many summer vacations in the San Isabel area.
    http://paulasplace-paula.blogspot.com/

    (I wonder what the commenting problem has been on blogger lately)?

  3. Trin @ ramsaygrace (@ramsaygrace)
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 03:08:14

    I’ve always longed to visit Colorado….even moreso now that I’ve seen your beautiful pics! My brother goes about once a year to snow ski, and the pictures he brings home are breathtaking! So glad you shared these and hope you have a great day!

  4. April
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 10:09:10

    I used to live in Colorado Springs…. and would move back to Colorado IN A HEARTBEAT! Estes Park is probably my most favoritest (that’s a real word today) on the planet! 🙂 Enjoy your beautiful view!

  5. Laura Greene
    Mar 27, 2013 @ 12:12:10

    Damn it Kim, you made me cry! I was in eight grade when the Columbine massacre happened. I was home sick and happened to have the news on. I spent the whole day parked in front off the TV, sobbing. It was awful!

    On a lighter note, we’re Rocky Mountain sisters!

Leave a Reply

