Day 17: Why & When Did I Start Blogging?

Today’s prompt for the 31 Day Blog Challenge is, “Why and when did you start blogging?” It has taken me the better part of the day to figure out how to answer, as I couldn’t really remember when, and I’m still not sure why, but here’s the best I can come up with:

WHEN was pretty easy to figure out. All I had to do was look it up. I started blogging in 2007.

WHY, you ask?

Well, to be honest, it was pretty much on a whim. Before Facebook — or at least before us old folks out of school discovered Facebook –a couple of my friends had blogs as a way to keep in touch with family & friends. As an aspiring writer, I wanted to see what it felt like to put my words out there in cyberspace. It felt … well, unremarkable. Very few people read it, blogging was still pretty new (to me), so I didn’t know how to get more readers, nor did I know if I truly wanted to. Anything I wrote about seemed dull and silly. Why would anyone want to read it?

So, my blog sat lonely and virtually worldless for about a year, until I discovered a podcast called Will Write for Wine (I blogged about it here) which gave birth to an online community of writers that I became a part of. We had an online forum where we talked to each other about writing and wine. A bunch of the women in the group had blogs, which sparked my interest in blogging once again. That’s about when I discovered that blogging could be a way to make a little extra cash, which intrigued me, but at the time, I was running a small business, raising two kids, and writing my first novel (which to this day is still not published, but that’s another post). To say the least, my plate was full, and I put the idea on the back burner. For the last few years, my posts have been sporatic at best. The boys continued grow, the economy eventually saw the death of our business, and our lives went through several more twists, turns and loopy loops.

So now, here we are. At the beginning of this year, I had a pretty stern talking to myself. All my life, I’ve said I was going to be a writer. And yet, I didn’t write. The reasons were many — fear, laziness, disorganization, procrastination & self-doubt, to name a few. So I told myself that either I had to admit I didn’t really want to be a writer, or I had to get off my ass and … WRITE. The thought of not writing — of completely giving up any notion of eventually publishing my novel — soaked me in depression. I couldn’t imagine giving up that dream.

So I thought, how about blogging? Just to stretch my writing muscles and find my voice again. I could maybe do that. That is, if I could remember my WordPress password.

Then the Universe plopped this challenge into my lap, and I knew …

It was time.

Come join the fun at FabulousFindsByTiffany.com

Come join the fun at FabulousFindsByTiffany.com

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura Greene
    Mar 17, 2013 @ 22:30:23

    I’m glad you blog! Your blog is one of my favorites to read in this challenge and you can count on me sticking around after it’s all said and done!

  2. coffeegirl88
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 05:56:11

    I’m glad you had that talk with yourself and are still writing. I think I might have had a similar conversation with myself this year, except I already know I can’t quite writing.

    Perhaps it’s time we have another personal writing challenge this Spring, a little something to get us both moving.

  3. kimberlyfoley
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 07:36:39

    Awww … thanks, Laura. Your blog is one of my favorites, too! It is already in my “Keepers” file.

  4. kimberlyfoley
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 07:37:56

    I’ll definitely be up for a challenge in the Spring, Cyn. I’m itching to dig into my new story for real this time.

Leave a Reply

