Day 10 – Daily Routine

First, just let me say I laughed when I saw today’s topic for the 31 Day Challenge. I am very much a seat-of-my-pants sort of person; I’ve never done really well with routines. I used to get frustrated with myself about my lack of ability to hold to a routine, but now I’ve learned to embrace it — or at least live with it. Pair that with the fact that I have a job with irregular shifts, I really don’t have anything that could be called a daily routine. However, life does demand some constants, some creature comforts to help make the day a little more pleasant. I’ve come to think of my life as a sort of “organized chaos”.

Here are some of the constants of my day:

  1. Alarm Clock – It’s been interesting to me to hear about everybody’s alarm clock habits in this challenge. I too have very specific habits when it comes to my alarm clock. First, it took me several tries to find a perfect tone that would both wake me up (because of my job, I tend to ignore beeps and buzzes) and not completely piss me off (it’s not a good thing to be pissed off first thing in the morning). I finally settled on a pleasant piano melody from a meditation album of mine. I am allowed to hit the snooze button twice. I can catch and extra little wink through the first snooze, but my feet better damn well be on the floor before the end of the second. That’s my rule, and I’m pretty good at abiding by it.
  2. Scale – You all are going to think I’m crazy, and I’ve heard every arguement against it, but I weigh myself. Every. Damn. Day. First thing. Butt naked. It’s the only way I can stay honest with myself about my weight. And it’s worked for me.
  3. Coffee – Yep. Before any human interaction, I must have coffee. I try to have the first cup alone and in complete silence, which is most often the case because I’m almost always up before anyone else as I usually have to be at work by Zero Dark Thirty. Sometimes I have my second cup at home, but if not, I have it at work. Plenty of coffee there.
  4. Hair & Face. ‘Nuff said about that.
  5. Wine – At risk of sounding like I have a problem, I do really like my glass of wine at the end of the day.

I am working on adding “Write” to that list, and this challenge has gone a long way in convincing me that it’s possible. Thanks again to Tiffany for making it happen!

Come join the fun at FabulousFindsByTiffany.com

Come join the fun at FabulousFindsByTiffany.com

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Mar 10, 2013 @ 11:44:19

    Hey, whatever wind-down routine you have is fine by me! Wine is good!

  2. Paula Kaye
    Mar 10, 2013 @ 15:04:01

    I have to have my coffee first thing every morning too! And I SHOULD try that wind-down wine every evening! Sounds like a plan to me
    http://paulasplace-paula.blogspot.com/2013/03/what-i-doall-day-each-day-every-day.html

Leave a Reply

