Day 8: Pet Peeves

PEEVES

The word makes me think of the resident poltergeist in Harry Potter. I guess pet peeves are kind of like a poltergeist in that they can make the hair on the back of your neck stand up and put you completely on edge. Lately, I’ve tried not to let too many things I can’t control bother me, but there are a few things that still tend to pull me off center, especially when the old hormones are raging. Upon reflection, I’ve realized that most of my current pet peeves revolve around facebook. I have a love/hate relationship with Facebook. I love it because I like seeing what the people I love are doing. But there are also some things that really irk me.

Vague Posts

I call it “Vaguebooking”. Posts such as “OMG. How could this day get any worse?” or “What an idiot!” or “At the hospital.” You’ve seen them – posts just begging you to ask for explanation. If you can’t go into to detail or you don’t have time or whatever, here’s an idea: DON’T POST ANYTHING. Otherwise, I’m just going to assume you’re a drama queen looking for attention and I will ignore you.

Blindly reposting shit when you have no inkling as to whether or not  it’s true.

For example, a few weeks ago I saw several people passing along a picture of a kid with a bruised up face along with a picture and details of the man who supposedly abused her and asking for help in finding him. Of course I can’t stand the thought of any child being abused. What decent human being wouldn’t be outraged and want to help? But can you imagine if it wasn’t true? What if it was just a scorned ex-lover trying to get back at the guy? This is why we have due process, people.  Don’t ruin someone’s life just because you had nothing better to do but hang out on Facebook and click the “share” button.

Post after Post after Post of cute kittens

I’m a cat lover. I love kittens. But stop with the cute kitten posts already! What is it with those? I guess I just don’t get it.

There are more, but I feel like I’m starting to sound like a grumpy old bitch, especially now that I’ve started complaining about kittens, so I’ll hand it over to you. What are your Facebook pet peeves?

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. coffeegirl88
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 07:07:02

    Seriously now, get out of my head. 😉 You’ve pretty much hit every one of my Facebook pet peeves, sad thing is I’ve probably got a couple family members on my page who do everything you mentioned, all the time and I’m currently desperately trying not to feed the family trolls. I know better, but curiousity being what it is, fighting the urge is hard.

    So, instead of posting cute kitty pictures I should start posting Grumpy Cat pictures, would that be better? Not that I actually post kitten pics, or any pics, for that matter.

Leave a Reply

