Day 6: Your Last Random Act of Kindness

I’m not sure if this counts as a Random Act of Kindness, but here goes:

I work as a Barista/Shift Supervisor at a very well known coffee shop. You know, the one where they wear the green aprons? On Saturday mornings, a ski bus stops in our parking lot to pick up school kids and take them up to the mountains. Last Saturday at 6:00 am, a mom came in with her son, who looked to be about 12 or 13, to get him a cup of hot chocolate and breakfast sandwich for the ride up the hill, as well as a latte and scone for herself. The sandwich was already in the oven and the drinks were ready before she searched her purse and realized she’d left her wallet at home. She told her son he would have to use his lunch money. He dug in his pocket and fished out a ten dollar bill and a few ones. He told his mom he would now only have a three dollars for his lunch that day. She sighed and told him he would just have to get by with that and at least he would have a good breakfast.

I’m a mom of two boys and our family skis, so I knew damn well that this boy would be lucky to be able to buy a pack of mints for three dollars at the ski area, and he’d quickly burn through that hot chocolate and sausage sandwich just hauling his skis up to the chair lift. He was destined for a very long day on an empty stomach. I couldn’t stand that thought. So I paid for it. The mom was really embarrased, but grateful. She tried to promise me she’d come back later to pay me back, but I told her that I’d rather she pay it forward when she had the opportunity. She promised that she would do that.

Now, does this qualify as Random? I don’t think so. The kid needed to eat and I was able to pay for him. I just thought it was the good and right thing to do. I’ve always wanted to do something completely random like pay for the person behind me at a drive-thru, but I tend to be kind of a dingbat and I never remember to do it, so I try my best to take the opportunity it’s presented to me. I figure it’s the least I can do.

31-day-blog-challenge-march-2013-ad

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cristys18
    Mar 07, 2013 @ 07:38:10

    Wonderful act. Working at the well known coffee shop with the green aprons for 3 years, I got to see a lot of random acts.

  2. Teresa
    Mar 10, 2013 @ 04:49:15

    You’re such a sweet, compassionate woman. I love you, Kim.

Leave a Reply

