Day 3 – What Make’s You Happy?

Day 3 – What Makes You Happy?

ChiantiInTheRough

When looking for an image for this post, I stumbled across this picture I took on a hike with my husband and it immediately made me smile. Hiking with my husband and sharing a good bottle of wine definitely make me happy.

As I reflected on this post, I realized that there are the big things that make me happy and the little things that make me happy. Of course, my husband and my boys make me happy everyday. And there’s my dog, Sophie. And I have a huge extended family, most of whom I am grateful to keep in touch with, despite the long distances between us. I love my home and the beautiful place I live. I love my job and all the people I work with and the people I see each day.

But it’s the culmination of the little things that make me happy everyday that make up those bigger things. Here are some of the little things:

  • A pink and purple Colorado sunrise
  • The silence just before that sunrise
  • Listening the birds in my backyard – even the crows.
  • The smell of coffee, especially when someone else made it for me
  • Getting lost in a really good book and that bittersweet feeling of reading the last page.
  • Kissing the little fuzzy soft spot on my dog’s snout, just above her nose.
  • Listening to the banter of my sons and their friends.
  • Getting a new picture of my beautiful, curly-topped niece.
  • Having to stand on tiptoe to hug my big boys (including my husband).
  • Hearing a favorite song on the radio and singing along.
  • Long, lingering dinners shared with good friends.

Those are just a few of the many little happy things that make up a happy life. What are your little happy things?

31-day-blog-challenge-march-2013-ad

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura Greene
    Mar 03, 2013 @ 11:20:22

    This part, “Kissing the little fuzzy soft spot on my dog’s snout, just above her nose.” is just the absolute best. I have three dogs and three fuzzy spots to kiss. It makes me insanely happy. Thanks for sharing!

  2. kimberlyfoley
    Mar 03, 2013 @ 11:22:26

    Sounds like you love your dogs as much as I love mine! Be sure to kiss those fuzzy spots everyday. It does the heart good!

Leave a Reply

