The Old Snark

The first, and probably most important member of The Girls in the Basement is the one I refer to as The Old Snark.

I imagine her sitting at the table with the other girls, mostly silent and smirking as the younger ones chatter and laugh and act silly. She looks as though she’s sulking, taking the occasional drag from her cigarette, followed by a sip of gin. But she’s not sulking, she’s just observing the others fondly and remembering when she was young and foolish. But life’s hard knocks has made it impossible for her to join in their fun. Although she appreciates happy endings, she insists on doses of reality, because she knows that part of life’s beauty is found in its imperfections.

I believe that her presence comes from my obsession with my female ancestors and their lives. She is the culmination of all the strong women who have come before me – my grandmothers, Juanita & Betty; my great-grandmothers, Mable, Bessie, Missouri & Maude; and my great-great grandmothers, the most facisnating being Ada, who immigrated here from Wales at 17, widowed and alone to raise my great-grandfather. When I’m feeling weak and afraid, I stare at the pictures I’ve collected of them on my mantel, and they remind me to keep putting one foot in front of the other and continue moving forward, no matter what curveballs life throws at me.

And it is the Old Snark who proded my back to my blog, despite the fact that I’ve lost a week of my goal, because the key is to keep moving forward, even if life distracts you and you wander off track every now and again.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. coffeegirl88
    May 14, 2012 @ 02:09:39

    I’m looking forward to meeting the rest of the girls, this week right?

Leave a Reply

