(Just Like) Starting Over

Wow … I remembered my password. That’s something, anyway.

Okay, so it’s been awhile. Again. But I am happy to report that I am checking in here with a plan and some enthusiasm to boot, so go me.

This past month, I’ve been working on getting back into the writing groove and finish my novel THIS YEAR once and for all. I’ve never been very good at goals, or deadlines for that matter, and I very rarely make New Year’s Resolutions for that reason, but this year, Scarlett O’Hara style (With God as my witness!) I WILL finish this book. As a started rereading my first draft for the umpteenth million time, I realized (or rather RE-relized) that although I still think with all my heart it’s a fantastic story, I only skimmed the surface of what I wanted to convey through the story. There is so much more emotion and meaning to mined from it. Part of that, I think, is because I never really did any character sketching or story discovery (something I learned about AFTER I wrote my first draft). So, I’ve decided I’m going to backtrack and do that now. I know a lot in my head about my characters, but I’ve never really wrote it down, so that’s what I’m going to do over the next couple of weeks along with some collaging of the scenes and characters so I won’t only have a picture in my mind of what they look like, but I will have some actual visuals of my characters and the made up Colorado town where the story takes place. I think that this process will help me achieve the depth I’m looking for while I do my final revisions. It’s also kind of a fun way to ease myself back into the story and back to getting this thing done.

I’ve tried to cast out my characters before, but the only one I was very clear on was the character of Julian, who I chose the very sexy Eric Bana to portray:

I struggled with who would play my main character, Carly, but I finally stumbled upon this picture of Erin Sanders which is almost exactly how I imagine Carly:

I’m working on finding pictures for some of my other characters, including Carly’s mom, Paula, who is about 35 years old, blonde and very ill, but you can tell that she used to be beautiful. Oddly enough, I’m leaning towards Gwyneth Paltrow for her, but I’m up for suggestions. Also, I need a picture of Ida – who is an older granola hippy type lady, about 55ish, with long graying hair. I’m kind of at loss for that one, so I’d appreciate any ideas if you have them.

I’ve come to realize that the town itself has become sort of a character, so I plan to put some pictures of the town together in a photoshop collage with pictures of my characters. To give you an idea of the town, it’s sort of a mix between the real-life towns of Silver Plume and Idaho Springs (not as small as Silver Plume and not as big as Idaho Springs). Thus the name – Silver Springs.

My next post will be my collage, so stay tuned.

Baby steps … Baby steps.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. coffeegirl88
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 17:43:38

    Even baby steps are steps forward. I’m proud of you for getting back at this and I do think we need to challenge each other to get back at this . . . as I still haven’t gotten back on the writing horse. I’ve got story and music in my head, I just haven’t gotten to, you know, putting words on the page.

    Hey and for Ida I’ll mull this one over and see if I can force a better visual of how I saw her when reading the story. I like what you’ve got so far.

  2. Isabella Louise Anderson
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 21:11:07

    Welcome back to the wonderful world of blogging and writing!

    I think that you have come up with a great idea, as far as character descriptions go, and it’s brilliant. I never thought of having some what of a character resemble a celeb, but do see how it can be very effective! Thank you for sharing!

    As far as Carly’s mother, Paula, 35 seems awfully young to have what looks like to be a twenty-something year old woman. What is the age difference between these two? Might I suggest, Heidi Klum?

    I look forward to seeing your collage!

  3. kimberlyfoley
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 00:26:55

    Hi Isabella! Thanks for dropping by and visiting my blog!

    Heidi Klum is actually a wonderful suggestion for Paula – I’ll have to go look at some pictures of her. As for Paula’s age, Carly is 18 and Paula had her when she was 17 or 18, so she was a very young mom, which is part of the story. I know it’s difficult to make suggestions when you don’t know the story, so I really appreciate your insight. I look forward to checking out your blog as well.

  4. kimberlyfoley
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 00:34:28

    Cyn – Thanks for brainstorming with me. If you have any ideas about Ida, let me know. I have a pretty strong vision of her, but it’s really hard to find pics of celebrities who aren’t necessarily gorgeous, you know what I mean? For Carly, all I did was google “Actresses under the age of 25” and got tons of lists and photos. When I googled, “Older hippy looking actresses” I got less than savory results.

    And as always, thanks for the encouragement. As for a challenge, right now I’d be up for a sort of blogging challenge if that appeals to you at all. I find that blogging sort of helps me focus on my writing. After I posted this morning, I ended up mulling the story over in my mind and taking notes throughout the day, so that was really good. I’d like to blog more, if only to pour out my own crazy thoughts and ideas. Maybe it would do you some good to dust off your blog too. 😉

  5. coffeegirl88
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 14:57:27

    A blogging challenge sounds pretty good to me. So what do you think? Maybe a weekly post sort of thing? Or more often?

    Oh and as weird as this is going to sound (but hey you know me so the weird is a given) I was thinking about it last night and I’m thinking Ida as sort of a hippie older Helena Bonham Carter.

  6. kimberlyfoley
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 15:34:14

    I was actually thinking more often – believe it or not I have a post planned for today. Maybe three times a week? Is that too much? Or should it be whoever has the most posts at the end of the month wins?

  7. coffeegirl88
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 19:17:45

    How about you post 3x a week and I’ll post once a week, if we both keep to that then we both win? I don’t think I ever posted 3x a week even at my best.

  8. kimberlyfoley
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 13:43:14

    Okay, but let’s do two a week for me and one for you. I don’t want to overwhelm myself. Of course, you realize that means you have to post this week, right?

Leave a Reply

