Still Alive

Yep, I’m still alive, in case anybody was wondering.

As I alluded to in my last post, oh so many weeks (months) ago, I went through a little bit of a writing slump. I generally don’t like to talk about my problems, but our business was hit pretty hard by the economy, and we’ve been more or less treading water, gasping for breath, trying to ride out the storm, so I literally had no creative energy left after work and cooking dinner each night, which is when I generally have time to write. So I succumbed instead to sacking out in front of the boob tube every night, and letting myself get lost in, appropriately, the show Lost.

That, and I found out revisions are REALLY EFFING HARD. Harder than actually writing the damn thing, especially since I pants the entire first draft without any thought of, you know, STRUCTURE and PLOT. So I’ve had to do a bunch of rewriting and even more cutting to patch things up. My first set of revisions that I did just before the new year were half-assed at best. So now, I finally feel ready to tackle a second set of revisions, this time with very fine tooth comb.

I asked my faithful friend, Cynthia, to keep my on track, and she led me to another Wiffer’s June challenge, Sleepy Jean’s MyNoEdMo. So I’ve joined up with that. My goal for June (and continuing through the summer) is one chapter a week. Currently, I have 15 chapters, so if I keep up with my goal (which I think is pretty doable), I will have a completely revised draft by the end of September and I’ll be ready to pursue some agents.

Right now, Chapter One is kicking my ass, so I’m thinking I’ll turn in what I have to Cynthia and move on. I’ll revisit it again when I’m done with all the rest. I seem to be overwhelmed knowing that the first 3-6 pages have to be enough to spark an agent’s interest, and I can’t get seem to get past that. So my only solution is to keep going and come back to hammer at it some more later.

I’d like to promise to post more often, but we all know how that goes. So let’s just say I will try harder to keep you up to date with my progress, and if you come back here and there are no recent posts, it most likely means no progress is being made. Fair enough?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. coffeegirl88
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 15:25:48

    Get the complete draft to where you like it first, then worry about the rest of it. Seriously.

  2. Pamela Cayne
    Jun 16, 2010 @ 16:24:04

    And don’t worry about us. Seriously. You come first, be that writing or vegging out or having a lovely glass of wine with your few free minutes or whatever! We will always be here no matter how long you take, and always be thinking good and happy thoughts for you.

    Congrats on your progress and know you’ve got us behind you. Woot!!!

  3. kimberlyfoley
    Jun 17, 2010 @ 14:48:27

    Aw, shucks, you’re gonna make me get all mushy. That’s why I love the Wiffers so much — I always know somebody’s got my back. Love you guys! 🙂

  4. Jean
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 20:40:52

    A chapter a week sounds like a much more reasonable goal than my trying to knock out all of my edits in a month. No wonder my project kicked my hinder. But I’m in the Wiffer crowd, cheering you on!

    I was going to e-mail this to you, but I can’t find an address. I’m spotlighting each of the MyNoEdMo participants each week in my blog, and it’s your turn. If you’d like to be spotlighted, just fill out the questions below and send ’em back to jmbauhaus at gmail. Thanks!

    1. Preferred Name:

    2. Blog/web site url:

    3. Tell us a little about yourself:

    4. Tell us about your project:

    5. What do you hope to accomplish by taking part in MyNoEdMo?

    6. What’s your biggest challenge about getting it done this month?

    7. Any parting words?

  5. kimberlyfoley
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 14:27:56

    Hi Jean – Wow, I’ve never been spotlit in blog before — I’d be honored! I will email you the answers shortly.

  6. Bonni Clark
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 16:01:11

    Like you, I have dreams of that “Great American Novel!!” It’s in my head, but getting it onto “paper” is more difficult that I could imagine!

    I write because it frees my mind from all the clutter that floats around it in. While that novel is buried deep in my brain, I do enjoy blogging. But I secretly think my brain is ADD because I lose interest quickly, only to pick up up a later date.

    Right now I have an obsession with writing, and it might be a good time to start a novel!!!

Leave a Reply

