Thirteen Happy Tunes

I like lists.

It’s weird, because I’ve never been what you’d call an organized person, and list-making seems to be one of those things associated with highly effective, highly organized types. Not me — not by a very, very loooong shot. Maybe it’s that making lists makes me FEEL as if I’m organized. Who knows.

Nowhere is my love of lists more apparent as my iTunes. A few months ago, I shared my soundtrack playlist for my novel, but I have playlists for everything: housecleaning songs, workout songs, cooking songs, Christmas songs. I have playlists for special people in my life, especially people I’ve lost, like my Grandma, or people who are far away, like my best friend –songs that bring that person’s essence to me when I’m missing them.

Currently, I’ve been working on a list of songs that are sure to lift my spirits no matter how down I am. It’s best when these kinds of songs just happen to come up on the car radio — happy things are that much better when they’re a surprise. But sometimes I have to seek them out for myself. I have a feeling this playlist will get pretty long, because there’s a lot of songs that make me happy, but here are the first thirteen for today’s “Thursday Thirteen”:

  1. Jack & Diane – John Mellencamp
  2. All You Need is Love – The Beatles
  3. Morning Has Broken – Cat Stevens
  4. Rocky Mountain High – John Denver
  5. Smile – Uncle Kracker
  6. Here Comes the Sun – The Beatles
  7. Come Sail Away – Styx
  8. You Shook Me All Night Long – AC/DC
  9. Joy of Life/Trout in the Bath – The Corrs
  10. Red, Red Wine – UB40
  11. We Are the Champions – Queen (Also on my “Best Friend” Playlist
  12. Piano Man – Billy Joel
  13. Don’t Stop Believing – Journey (I also love the “Glee” version – Also on my “Brother Mike” Playlist)
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. coffeegirl88
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 16:39:39

    That’s an interesting list.

  2. momumo
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 18:52:49

    What no Petty? (smirk)

Leave a Reply

