Thirteen Diamonds Along the Way

I’ve decided to try and develop a little structure for my blog (I know — what a concept, eh?) so I’m going to start doing a “Thursday Thirteen”. Some people do “Ten on Tuesday”, some do a “Five for Friday”, but I’ve decided to do thirteen on Thursdays because  thirteen is one of my favorite numbers. And I like doing lists — not because I’m an organized person by any means, you understand. I just think it’s fun to make a list.

I mentioned in an earlier post that I was feeling pretty down and disconnected coming into the new year. I’ve also mentioned (in my 100 Things list) that I have a lot of strange beliefs and superstitions. One of my beliefs is that the Universe sends messages to me through songs I happen to hear at different times in my life. (I think I also mentioned in my 100 Things list that I’m a spiritual person, not a religious one, which is a topic I’m thinking of tackling in a post sometime in the near future, if I can get over the fear that someone will find my blog and take it upon themselves to “save” me. I don’t need to be saved, but like I said, that’s for another post.) Anyway, shortly after New Years, I heard “Diamond Road” by Sheryl Crow on the radio, and it made me realize I’d been forgetting to appreciate those “Diamonds Along the Way” — the little things in life that put a smile on my face and remind that life is truly a good and beautiful thing. So here are thirteen of my diamonds:

1 ) Kissing the little fuzzy spot on my dog’s nose.

2 ) A pink sunrise

3 ) When one of my kids hugs me for no apparent reason

4 ) The sound of rain on the roof

5 ) The first sip of coffee in the morning

6 ) Wool socks on a cold day

7 ) The last run of a long day skiing, know there’s a thermos of hot chocolate waiting for me in the car

8 ) A long, hot bubble bath with a good book

9 ) The sound of cicadas in the late summer.

10 ) Looking up through the leaves of an aspen tree at the sunshine

11 ) Hearing one my favorite songs on the radio when I’m alone in the car and singing along to it at the top of my lungs

12 ) Drinking cold water right out of the hose on a hot summer day

13 ) Watching the snow fall on a quiet morning before everybody else is awake

What are some of your diamonds?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. coffeegirl88
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 18:24:32

    I love being able to catch a glimpse of wildlife from my window, or my back porch. Seeing the hummingbirds visit the sweet peas this summer always put a smile on my face.

  2. momumo
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 21:25:04

    receiving text messages with snippets of lyrics intended simply to bring a smile to my face!

    great post – you’re an inspiration

Leave a Reply

