Derailed

How in the world could it possibly have been four months since I last posted? I knew I’d gotten a bit off course, but FOUR MONTHS? No. Wait, let’s see. October, November, December, January. One, Two, Three, Four. My God.

Okay. So I got more than a little off course. Now, to be fair, I did abandon the blog for awhile to focus on revising my novel. But then there was the holidays and I decided to take a break. And now here we are in the new year … a new decade. If you want the honest to God truth, I’ve been in a bit of a slump all the way around. Running a small business in this economy is hard. Raising teenagers in any economy is hard. Writing a novel is hard. And I got really, really sick of everything being so … hard. And I dragged myself into the new year feeling like somehow my emotional thermostat had gotten stuck on “survive” and all I was doing was treading water and hoping that I wouldn’t drown.

But I’m over that now. Life’s hard, I knew that. I’ve always known that. And you know, treading water isn’t all that bad. When I was young, I spent a lot of time at my grandparents’ house in Elkhart, Indiana. They had an awesome house on the St. Joe River. One of my favorite things to do was to jump in the river and swim out to the middle and just tread water while looking up the river. This, I would think to myself, was peace. Just me and the water and the sky. And treading water in that strong river current wasn’t easy. But it was worth it. I miss that river every day.

So I’ve promised myself that I’m going to get back to the business of writing, because now that I don’t have a river to jump into anymore, writing is my peace. I’m going back to getting up early every morning to write and I will try my best to post here every Sunday at the very least to let you all know how it’s going, and to keep myself accountable. I don’t like to make New Year’s resolutions, but if I were to make one, it would be to finish my revisions and get an agent by the end of this year.

So consider me back on track. Again.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. coffeegirl88
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 14:57:08

    Glad to see you posted and look forward to seeing you do this a little more often.

    And hey, remember when things get hard you don’t have to suffer alone. That’s what the Wiffers are for.

    Now let’s see if I can get myself back to the peaceful joy of writing.

Leave a Reply

