Soundtracks and Writing

Okay, here is the soundtrack for my novel, as promised (and finally). As I said, music has always inspired my writing and I was given the idea of setting a soundtrack to my story by some other writer friends of mine. I highly recommend doing this to anyone, as it has been so helpful to me, especially when I feel blocked. As you’ll see, I have a pretty broad range when it comes to taste in music. My iTunes library has everything from Classical to Metal with pretty much everything in between, including show tunes, country, R&B, etc. The only genre I do not like as a whole is Rap, which I’d argue isn’t music, but to each his own, I guess.

I have a theme song for each major character along with at least one song for each chapter:

Carly’s ThemeI’m With You (Avril Lavigne)

Julian’s Theme Carry On Wayward Son (Kansas)

Paula’s ThemeFallen (Sarah McLachlan)

Ida’s ThemeHands (Jewel)

Chapter 1

Heartbreak Town (Dixie Chicks)

Chapter 2

Deep Water (Jewel)

Chapter 3

Eleanor Rigby (The Beatles)

Chapter 4

Lonely Ol’ Night (John Mellancamp)

You and Me (Lifehouse)

You May Be Right (Billy Joel)

Chapter 5

Fallin’ For You (Colbie Caillat)

One Love (Hootie and the Blowfish)

Chapter 6

Hand Me Down (Matchbox 20)

Chapter 7

Give a Little Bit (Goo Goo Dolls)

Hold My Hand (Hootie and the Blowfish)

Absence of Fear (Jewel)

Chapter 8

Play Me (Neil Diamond)

Underneath Your Sky (Marina V)

Let Love In (Goo Goo Dolls)

Chapter 9

If Everyone Cared (Nickelback)

Chapter 10

Oh My Love (John Lennon)

Chapter 11

Pachelbel’s Canon (George Winston)

Come Sail Away (Styx)

As I Lay Me Down (Sophie B. Hawkins)

Chapter 12

When I’m With You (Sheriff)

Love Bites (Def Leppard)

Chapter 13 & BBM (Big Black Moment)

Broken (Lifehouse)

Killing My Dream (Marina V)

How to Save a Life (The Fray)

Iris (Goo Goo Dolls)

Chapter 14

Angel (Sarah McLachlan)

Landslide (Fleetwood Mac/Dixie Chicks)

Far Away (Nickelback)

One Thing (Finger Eleven)

Chapter 15

Silver Spring (Fleetwood Mac)

The Mountains Win Again (Blues Traveler)

Home (Daughtry)

Better Days (Goo Goo Dolls)

Note: I listened to a lot of Goo Goo Dolls, Nickelback and Lifehouse during the time I wrote the first draft, which is why so many songs from those three bands appear on the list. Also, if you’ve never heard of Marina V, she has one of the most beautiful soprano voices I’ve ever heard. Check out her website!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. coffeegirl88
    Sep 12, 2009 @ 20:23:09

    I LOVE the Goo Goo Dolls, need more of them in my library, but I love them.

    Oh and Rap is too music, now excuse me while I face in the general direction of Colorado and stick out my tongue.

    Of course this whole song by chapter thingy you and Pam did is completely confusing. I have a few songs that are better played while writing some scenes more than others, but all this stuff is way too organized for me. But, we each get to Oz differently so whatever works.

  2. kimberlyfoley
    Sep 12, 2009 @ 22:22:01

    Yeah, I thought I’d ruffle some feathers with the Rap comment. Sorry they were yours, Cyn. I guess I just don’t understand Rap because I can’t get past the headache it gives me. Like I said, to each his own.

    Originally, I wasn’t so organized with my songs either. In fact, even the scenes in my story were in a jumble because I didn’t write them in order. Part of the reason it has taken me so long to write this story is it didn’t come to me in a straight line. When I put the scenes in order, I realized the songs fell in a certain order as well.

  3. coffeegirl88
    Sep 13, 2009 @ 04:00:19

    Hey, feathers not even out of place. Rap is like, mushrooms on a pizza, some people love it others hate it. Music is personal. I mean, I don’t listen to Ice-T or Xzibit much but they are in my library.

    I don’t write in order much either, I write as scenes come to me then fill in the rest as I go.

  4. Pamela Cayne
    Sep 25, 2009 @ 18:25:36

    Wow! Not only am I amazed at your list, I’m embarassed at how sucky I’ve been seeing your soundtrack (and that goes for Coffee, too.) However, I love it–so fascinating! Can’t wait to read this book and put the music to the words!

Leave a Reply

