So, what gives?

Yeah, I know. I haven’t been good about blogging, lately. Okay, okay … I suck at blogging in general. But that doesn’t mean I haven’t been writing. In fact, I’ve made a lot of headway on my revisions, and have even written a few extra scenes. I took my BFF’s advise from her comment in my last post and started biting off tiny little bits until it’s finally become a big chunk. So that’s where my focus has been the last few months. I probably wouldn’t be posting right now if it weren’t for this awesome (drink!) post, by my fellow Wiffer, Pamela Cayne. It got me all tingly and inspired to blog again, because it reminded me how important it is to have relationships with other writers, because after all, we are kinda a strange breed and we need to stick together.

Another wonderful thing happened in the last couple of months while I was working on revisions. I found out what my story was all about! Yeah, I know, two years later I finally figured it out. I was having a really hard time figuring out my main character’s motivation and goal, and you sort of need that in a story. But I had faith if I kept meandering around, I’d figure it out. And the other morning? I sat down with my coffee and my journal and wrote a synopsis. Yeah. Just like that. I didn’t intend to write it. I sit down every morning with my journal just to get the cobwebs out of my brain, and out it came. All in one piece, and just like Mary Poppins, practically perfect in every way. Maybe one of these days I’ll share it here, but I’m not quite ready yet.

So, now that I know what it’s about, like Pam, I’m going to do a new soundtrack for it. Music has always helped me write, and I slapped together a soundtrack when I first starting writing this book to help me get the essence of each character and some of the scenes. But now that I have a better grasp on things, I’m going to revise it and post it here.

Okay, that is all for now. With any luck, it won’t be as long until I post again, but with me, you never know.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. coffeegirl88
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 15:14:46

    It’s always good to know what your story is about. 😉

    Glad you’ve been quietly revising these past few months, still looking forward to getting to read this manuscript.

    Now, I’m off to actually do that writing thing I haven’t been doing much of this summer. But hey, it’s Fall and time to get back to work. I think Pam has something with that idea that Fall is the beginning of the year. I’m definitely feeling it.

  2. kimberlyfoley
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 15:19:31

    Yeah, Fall seems to give me a renewed burst of energy and creativity as well. I meant to thank you, Cyn, for the suggestion of adding music to my revisions way back when, but I was so excited that I was actually blogging, I forgot. You did make me revisit my old soundtrack when I began biting off those little morsels a few months ago. How about a little challenge? We both post our soundtracks sometime this week. Up for it?

  3. coffeegirl88
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 15:21:41

    I don’t know, think the universe can handle both of us blogging TWICE in one week?

    But hey, I’m up for it. I’ll post my soundtrack by the end of the week.

  4. kimberlyfoley
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 15:33:42

    You’re on! Anybody else who’s up for it, feel free to join us.

  5. uninvoked
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 15:54:27

    Sometimes that just happens. Uninvoked is my 2006 (I think) NaNoWriMo novel. It was “Complete” at the end of the month. It sat in a folder until I moved to WA where I found myself in a creative black hole. Desperate, I rewrote the thing just to prove I could still write. The plot completely changed, but it was still the same thing. Posting it up online actually gave me the epiphany I needed to change it. I realized what the story was all about….happily before too much was posted to edit.

  6. Karen
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 16:06:06

    Guilty of lack of blogging too. ‘cept of course, spy stories.

    Fall always makes me want to start new projects.
    And on that note, I’d better get back to the WIP before Pam catches me spending time here instead of writing…. 😉

  7. Pamela Cayne
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 17:47:01

    Hooray for Kim and her new soundtrack!!! Woot!!! Hooray for Coffee’s upcoming soundtrack!!! And Karen, you are so busted! (not–I’m just kidding…kinda. 😉 )

    And I’m getting so inspired by everybody else that I may try a modified version of NaNo this year–eek!

  8. Teresa
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 18:06:30

    Yea! Glad to hear all about your progress! I admire your journaling routine. I haven’t managed to write consistently in my journal in years (an ex-boyfriend ruined journaling for me and I haven’t fully reclaimed it — but that’s another story). Nearly every page in my journal starts similarly, “Wow, a lot’s happened since the last time I wrote …” I look forward to hearing your soundtrack!

  9. kimberlyfoley
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:27:27

    Teresa – Did that happen to be “Mr. Device”, because that just makes me want to kick his ass even more!

    uninvoked – That’s interesting, I started my novel during NaNo 2007. I guess sometimes stories have to compost a little while before revealing their “true selves”. Thanks for your comment!

  10. coffeegirl88
    Sep 11, 2009 @ 22:44:18

    Hey slacker, I’ve posted my soundtrack/playlist so where’s yours?

Leave a Reply

