One Step Forward

Wow … It’s been what? Almost six weeks since I blogged? Well, if you’re one of the people who keep checking back, my apologies, and thanks so much for your patience. I’d be surprised if there’s anybody left out there following my blog, but according to my stats, there’s at least a few of you.

There are a lot of reasons I could give you for not blogging, all of which would have a seed of truth to them, but the biggest reason is that I hate to have to bore people (and myself) with whining, and that’s all I’ve felt like doing as of late when it comes to the subject of my writing in general, and my novel in particular. Seems I’ve hit a wall, and have been standing here staring at it for quite a few months now. I’ve made a few futile attempts to climb over it, but all in all, they haven’t amounted to much, and I’ve made very little progress since I finished my first draft.

Okay, I’m just going to go ahead and say it. This whole revision thing sucks. I guess it just all comes back to the fact that I haven’t a clue what I’m doing. It’s just so dang overwhelming, and when I feel overwhelmed, my first reaction is to do absolutely nothing. So I guess it should be no surprise to me that I’ve been staring at this wall for so long. I just plain don’t know where to start. I’ve read over my manuscript several times and there is just SO MUCH to fix. Where do I start? I know, I know, Glenda told Dorothy that it’s always best to start at the beginning, but my yellow brick road seems to be covered with weeds and I can’t find it. If I could just clear those weeds of self-doubt, maybe I could find it. I’ve always struggled with being too hard on myself, and it takes absolutely nothing to trip me up and get me to start ragging on myself.

However, I’m so in love with my story, it keeps pulling me back. It calls to me and reassures my that I can do this. I just need to keep moving forward, one step at a time. It’s painfully slow, but I’ve got to believe I’ll get there … SOMEDAY.

So, I guess my next step is to try and figure out some sort of plan or process for getting these revisions done. So I’m reaching out to you, dear readers (bless all two of you). If you’re a writer, what have you found that works for you. Got any frogs for me to kiss? I’m hoping there might be one or two out there that will turn into my Prince Charming.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teresa
    Jun 28, 2009 @ 18:04:34

    I find that setting my goals on small, manageable pieces makes the whole daunting task easier. One page, ten pages, one chapter, one scene, one bit of dialog, whatever makes sense to you. Focus on the incremental stepping stones so you don’t notice the raging river you’re hesitating to cross. I share your same frustration, Kim, of feeling I don’t really know where to start revising what I’ve written, or even any certainty that my revisions are accomplishing what I need of them. However, if we aren’t doing something, we’re doing nothing, and that’s not going to accomplish anything.

  2. coffeegirl88
    Jun 28, 2009 @ 18:26:06

    When I’m stuck I do a couple things. First, and most important for me, is to listen to music. But not the story’s playlist. I just find some favorites on the iPod and drift. Actually I’ll plug into the iPod and play a game like bubble shooter, or bejeweled, or mah jong or something and let my story brain drift.

    Second, I read. Greatest way to get my story to talk to me is to step away and read someone else’s work. I usually get about half way through a big novel and I start hearing my story whisper.

    Third thing I do, work on something different.

    Oh, by the way, you have people you can whine to daily about this thing called writing and we/me will understand.

  3. Pamela Cayne
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 20:22:09

    Okay, now I don’t feel bad for how long it’s taken me to blog, either. 😉

Leave a Reply

