Best Laid Plans

Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.

~ John Lennon

I don’t know what it is with me. All the motivational guru types will tell you the best way to achieve your goals is to write them down. They say something like 90% of people who write down their goals, meet them. 

I must be in the other 10%.

No, I write down my goals and I may as well have challenged the Universe to unleash any chaos it can muster to thwart my plans. Truly, I’m not so self-centered to believe the Universe thinks I’m important enough to single out and torture, but sometimes it sure feels that way.

So, I enter this big challenge … the “May Marathon” some of my Wiffer friends came up with … and the very next day, I have a kid up all night barfing. I vow to carry on,  I tell myself that it’s a blessing to be able to stay home with him. I can work on my novel while he sleeps. Two days later, the guy in the car behind me at a red light decides to hit his accelerator before I do and bashes into my poor minivan. That night, my hubby is up all night with the same violent stomach flu as my younger son. And then the next day, my older son came home from school and promptly barfed. So between dealing with car insurance, making Jello, washing sheets and sterilizing toilets, I really didn’t have the time, let alone the mindset, I needed to tackle my novel revisions. And then when I figured the worst was finally over and maybe, just maybe I could dive in and get something done, the toilet I’d been cleaning for the last few days …

Became my very best friend.

I rarely ever get sick, so even though I should have seen it coming, I was completely, stupidly, foolishly unprepared. Furthermore, I found out that now that I’m older, I don’t seem to bounce back from the stomach flu quite as quickly as when I was twelve … which, by the way, is the last time I can remember having the stomach flu. I also forgot how very much it SUCKED!

I’m better now, but I’m not going to say anything about what I want to accomplish this weekend. Not a ding-dang word.

From now on, I think go with the “Just Do It” philosophy. Excuse me while I go look for my Nikes.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jennerosity
    May 15, 2009 @ 22:26:07

    Sometimes, planning really is over rated! Your story reminds me of my mantra for toilet cleaning – when you’re sick, nothing says I love you like a clean toilet!

  2. Lauri Lynnxe Murphy
    May 15, 2009 @ 22:42:49

    Story of my life, baby. My timing has always been horrible! Tell ya about it all over drinks sometime.

  3. Pamela Cayne
    May 15, 2009 @ 23:02:42

    Big, sympathetic hugs, Kim. But, there’s always SocNoc and NaNo coming up, so you can hit restart pretty easily (while counting what you’ve already done.)

    And, keep in mind, any day you write, even if it’d only one sentence, is a victory.

  4. Karen
    May 15, 2009 @ 23:23:23

    I cursed myself too.
    I promised 50,000 words.
    I wrote 15,000 then discovered that my motivation was completely wrong.
    Now I’m outlining an entirely new book.
    (OTOH, at least I found out quickly that it won’t work.)

    Next time, no posting goals 😉

  5. coffeegirl88
    May 15, 2009 @ 23:38:29

    Yeah, I think there’s something going around Wiffer-ville because I’ve had the worst time getting my butt in the chair to write. Oh, I’m sitting here, playing on Facebook or surfing around looking at all the fabric I can’t buy all while listening to music that is so wholly unrelated to my writing that I go days without thinking about story.

    Hope you’re finally on the road to feeling better. And here’s hoping the rest of us actually get down to the brass tacks of it and get words on paper.

Leave a Reply

