Hmmm … Now Where Was I?

You know, there was a reason I started this blog, I just know there was …

Oh, yeah! Remember how I said I finished the first draft of my novel? And remember how I said now I was going to work on revisions of that novel, and I was going to blog about it, and you all were going to encourage me?

Right …

So, anyway, I’m just going to say it right now … last month pretty much sucked. I didn’t even think about my novel, let alone do any kind of work on it. Okay, maybe I thought about it. Once. I think. That’s right … my dad and his wife Gaby were asking me about it while I was up in Seattle for Grandma’s funeral. Good … I thought about it and I even talked about it a little. That’s something, isn’t it?

Well, in the Wiffer’s way of good timing, my fellow Wiffer, Karen, posted today on her Facebook status that maybe we should have a writing challenge in May. At about the same time, some of my old high school friends discovered, quite belatedly, that April was “Alcohol Awareness Month” AND “Stress Awareness Month”. Since we all felt a little shafted by not knowing sooner that it was the month to be aware of alcohol, and we felt like we all had more stress in April than was really necessary, it was suggested we proclaim the month of May “Wine Awareness Month”. To be honest, I’m not sure why wine was singled out, but I’m a wino, so I went along with it.

So we’re combining the two and having a May Marathon/Wine Awareness Month and posting our writing goals on our blogs. My original thought was to set my goal to revise my entire novel. After all, a man’s reach should exceed his grasp, right? But then I thought, why set a goal I know damn well I won’t meet? So I’m cutting it in half. Right now, my word count sits at about 68,000 words. I know that I also need to add a few scenes and thus some words, so I’m setting my official “May Marathon” goal at 34,000 revised words, and 20,000 new words. Did I make that complicated enough, or what? Clear as a Mimosa with a splash of grenadine, huh?

Mimosas … mmmm …

mimosa

Where was I, again?

Right. Goals. And wine. Gotta have wine for the Wine Awareness part. So while I am working my little tush off getting these revisions done, I’m going to reward myself with a bottle of wine I’ve never tried for each, let’s say, 10,000 words revised or written, and review it here on the blog. How does that sound?

Oh, and one other thing. Some of us Wiffers have been whining (actually, Karen & Melina don’t whine, they kvetch) that other non-writers don’t understand what we all call “Writer Crazy”, so we will also be offering each other “Writer Therapy” in the Wiffer Forum. If you find yourself in the same sort of dilemma and want to join us, or if you have no idea what a Wiffer is, click HERE! We love company and we will welcome you with writer crazy open arms! I know, I know … you have to register, and that’s kinda scary. But really, it’s not such a huge commitment and we won’t spam you or anything. So c’mon in already! We have writers, we have crazy, we have wine … what else could you possibly need?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. coffeegirl88
    May 01, 2009 @ 03:28:33

    I definitely think there was something in the air these past few weeks as we all seemed to be going through some sort of non-writing lull. Just in the last couple hours since this got started I already feel better and am, even at this late hour, contemplating putting pen to paper.

    I still haven’t blogged about my goal, but I did post it in the forums. So it’s official, I’ve joined the madness. Now I just have to get some wine.

  2. Davina
    May 01, 2009 @ 09:05:58

    Ooh, wow, great goal. Kind of a double goal, really. I’ll definitely be cheering you on – and I love your reward plan! Extra incentive alert!

    Good luck!

  3. Karen
    May 01, 2009 @ 14:19:53

    🙂 🙂 🙂
    Awesome *drink* post!
    If this doesn’t bust us out of our slump, nothing will.

  4. Mel
    May 01, 2009 @ 17:43:19

    To whine is human. To kvetch is an artform. 😉

    I adored this post. What awesome (drink) goals! Yay Kim!

    Gooo Wiffers!

  5. Pamela Cayne
    May 12, 2009 @ 17:56:44

    I’m sorry–I kinda blanked out with the mimosas. What did you say? 😉

Leave a Reply

