I Heart Pike Place Market

img_1305One of my very favorite places in the whole wide world is Pike Place Market in Seattle. The day after my Grandma’s funeral, I woke up to sunny blue Seattle skies, and despite my exhaustion from the whole ordeal of losing my grandma, flying at the last minute from Denver to Seattle, and helping my dad with her funeral, I knew I’d been given a gift, as it’s very seldom sunny in Seattle, especially in the early Spring. So instead of sleeping all day like I’d planned, I hitched a ride with my dad into town and hung out at Pike Place Market all day long. It was my idea of pure Heaven. There is no better place to go people watch, which is one of my all time favorite pastimes.

img_13011One of the best things about the market is the street musicians. Since I knew I had the whole day, I made a point of standing and listening to at least one full song from every musician. These guys (above) were playing Cat Stevens’ “Wild World”, which happens to have a special meaning to me, so it was a perfect way to start off my day with a cup of coffee and a carton of blueberries bought from a local vender. I ask him if he knew any more Cat Stevens and he got really bashful and told me he was sorry that he didn’t. I gave him a big tip, anyway, of course. In fact, I spread a lot of good karma around that day! If I listened, or took a picture, I was sure to tip.

img_13021

And then there’s the flowers and all the vibrant colors! I’d never been to the market in the Spring to experience the multicolored Tulips, Daffodils and Hyacinths on display. I wish I would have gotten a close-up; I’ve never in my life seen such unique colors!

img_1303And, of course, there’s the famous “Salmon Toss”. The fish mongers are every bit the entertainers the street musicians are.img_1308Even the dogs come out to play! This little guy was sporting a pretty rad haircut and dye job along with a hip pair of blue jeans!

img_1324I’d be remiss not to mention the original Starbucks across the street from the market. Here it is complete with its own resident street musician.

img_1318A funny thing happens when the sun comes out in Seattle. People drop everything they’re doing to sit in the sun.

img_1319To Sunbathe …img_1320… or read … or watch the ferry come in …

img_1317… or even play the bagpipes. Upon my request, this young man was so kind to play “Amazing Grace” in honor of my Grandma. Some of you might know, I go completely fangirl gaga over the bagpipes. I must have sat there for an hour listening to him. He was fantastic!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Todd Schiele
    Apr 27, 2009 @ 19:30:31

    That piper is Patrick Downing (couldn’t tell from the small picture, but figured out how to get the larger one). He’s a top competition soloist, Grade 1 (top of amateur ranks) and plays with the World Champion Simon Fraser University Pipe Band. Also, a very nice guy. http://www.theseattlepiper.com for his info.

    Seattle is a growing hotbed of talented competition pipers and pipe bands. The Keith Highlanders and Northwest Junior Pipe Band both went to the World Pipe Band Championships in Glasgow, Scotland last year, the Keith placiing 3rd in their grade (4B), and Northwest Junior placing 5th in Novice Juvenile (top placing of any North American youth pipe band).

    We’ve got a fundraiser coming up to support our youth program May 9th. Check out my blog link for info.

  2. Pamela Cayne
    Apr 27, 2009 @ 22:59:11

    OMG–you are making me so heartsick for Seattle! I just love the city, and have always adored the market. I could spend weeks there, and the area around it.

    Thanks for a great post with fabulous photos! (And I am totally with you on the bagpipe fangirl!)

  3. kimberlyfoley
    Apr 28, 2009 @ 02:15:19

    Todd! So cool! Yes, I looked on his website, and that’s definitely him! Thank you so much for commenting and letting me know. I wish I would have know about him before, because I would have loved for him to play for my Grandma’s memorial. He was incredibly talented.

    Yep, Pam, I’m a shameless bagpipe fangirl. Some people think it’s all about the kilt, and I’ll give that I love a man in kilts, but just the sound of the pipes gives me chills.

  4. Darla
    Apr 28, 2009 @ 16:04:00

    Oh Man, I saw that market place when we went on our cruise……. We walked through it, that is where I found the peppers and stuff hanging. Your right about the colors, holy smokes bagpipe fangirl, I love’em too, gotta love a guy with a kilt. 🙂
    Thanks for the memories..

  5. Martha
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 22:39:53

    Great post! Really enjoyed it. Great pics too! Seattle is the best city in the world and it really has some great things to offer. I recently stumbled upon this blog (as I did yours) that I found pretty funny in its references to Seattle: http://burisonthecouch.wordpress.com/2009/06/23/theres-no-place-like-home-sort-of/

    Thanks for the post! Seattle rocks!

Leave a Reply

